Search This Blog

Friday, 17 January 2020

Lying Cat "Second Life" (bc052)

The return of the Lying Cat brings both a continuation and evolution of the sounds that were showcased on the evasive felines debut EP back in 2018. That warm and grainy fuzzy feeling remains embedded in the atmosphere, as does the curious nostalgic charm that each arrangement seems to possess.
The track structures are still unorthodox but this time they come supplemented with more depth, tone and character. There is a huge array of textures throughout 'Second Life' that are complimented by fractured patterns, moments of melodic bliss and electronic chaos that are all topped off with an exceptional aura of mystery.
"Second Life" is available to stream and DL below or at bandcamp

Wednesday, 15 January 2020

PREMIERE : Lying Cat "Candle Cove"

Another track from the upcoming Lying Cat EP has been unveiled thanks to an exclusive premiere via Seek Sick Sound.

You can also read an exclusive in depth and track by track pre-release review of "Second Life" over on The Electro Review here.

Monday, 6 January 2020

Bricolage Podcast #53 - Lying Cat

We kick start our 2020 on the podcast front with an hour of diverse selections from the Lying Cat. There's a little bit of everything in the mix. Imagine flicking through different radio stations for an hour....

Obtuse techno, avant-garde ambient, hip hop, jazz funk, experimental soundscapes, glimmering vocals and so much more.

This podcast acts as a pre-cursor of sorts of what to expect from the new Lying Cat EP. We release "Second Life" on the 17th of January.

As always you can listen to the mix below or over at mixcloud.


01. Off World - Primitive Streak
02. Hiss Tracts - Half-Speed Addict Starts With Broken Wollensak
03. Gavin Bryars - Jesus Blood Never Failed Me Yet
04. Pan Am Scan - The Path Of Yellow Sands (The Boats Remix)
05. Now Sleep - Digital Rain
06. Plone - Slow Arp
07. Actress - Our
08. Swod - Walz 57
09. Kathryn Joseph - From When I Wake The Want Is
10. Gavin Bryars - Jesus Blood Never Failed Me Yet 
11. Men Of Vision - Colours
12. Don Cherry - Utopia and Visions
13. Moses Boyd - Stranger Than Fiction
14. Milo - Yafet’s Song
15. Noname - Window Ft. Phoenix
16. How To Dress Well - Ready For The World
17. Jilk - Happy Talk Sad Talk
18. Now Sleep - The Walls Of Cogent Meaning Are Breaking Down, Soon There Will Only Be Loss And Then Nothing
19. Cocteau Twins - Frou-Frou Foxes In Midsummer Fires

Sunday, 5 January 2020

Lying Cat "Second Life" (EP Preview)

It's time to let the cat back out of the bag...

Lying Cat "Second Life" is now available for pre-order on bandcamp. Pre-order comes with instant download of the opening track....

Saturday, 4 January 2020

Random Access Radio : Bricolage (The 2019 Reminisce Mix)

We're back after a short break over the Christmas period. Refreshed, rejuvenated and ready to dive into 2020. Before we get the ball rolling with an album and a podcast from the Lying Cat, lets take a look back at the year that was in 2019 with a reminiscing mix put together for our friends at Random Access Radio in Greece. This exclusive mix includes at least one track from each of our releases from last year and also offers a sneak peek into the first couple of new releases coming in 2020. This includes the aforementioned mind altering Lying Cat album, sparse and futuristic techno from Urgula and a stunning epic double release from Minimal_Drone*GRL.

You can stream the mix at RAR or below.


01. Minimal_Drone *GRL - Belcarra Forest Ambience (forthcoming in 2020)
02. Leit Motif - Bloom (June 2019)
03. Dark Fidelity Hi Fi - Found (July 2019)
04. Dark Fidelity Hi Fi - Pushing Ratios (June 2019)
05. Fragile X - Phase System (May 2019)
06. No Arrival - Play (February 2019)
07. Sceadu - Imaginary Reign (January 2019)
08. Broken Form - Lay Still Beneath The Pylons (August 2019)
09. Lying Cat - The Dull Tedium Of This.... (forthcoming in 2020)
10. Belial Pelegrim - Scorpia (November 2019)
11. Sceadu - Embryo (January 2019)
12. Justin Case - #Ulysses (August 2019)
13. Urgula - Battle For The Magnetic Fields (forthcoming in 2020)
14. Ty Lumnus - Tolerances (September 2019)
15. Loui Cleghorn - The Halcyon Days (March 2019)
16. Devras Plexi - Orangeforest (August 2019)
17. Yasda - Claptrap (December 2019)

All of the above tracks can be found at the labels bandcamp page.